Skip Navigation
Skip to Footer
NDEAM Entertainment Media Summit: Disability: A Part of the Equity Equation

NDEAM Entertainment Media Summit

NDEAM Entertainment Media Summit: Disability: A Part of the Equity EquationRespectAbility hosted a virtual celebration including panel conversations and networking opportunities as we celebrated National Disability Employment Awareness Month 2022. Some sessions were open only to entertainment industry creatives who identify as deaf or disabled, as we seek to continue to build community. ASL Interpretation and Live Captioning were available for this event.

Want to learn more about or watch recordings from the 2021 Summit? Please visit the 2021 NDEAM Entertainment Media Summit page.

Featuring:

Corey Evans smiling headshot wearing a suit headshot of Craig Gerber Delbert Whetter smiling headshot
Corey Evans
Entertainment and News Media Apprentice, RespectAbility
Craig Gerber
Creator, Executive Producer, Disney Branded Televisions animated series Firebuds”
Delbert Whetter
COO & Head of Business Affairs, Exodus Film Group
Diana Theobald smiling headshot Jacquill Moss smiling headshot head shot of Lauren wearing an orange blazer, smiling and facing the camera color photo
Diana Theobald
Director, Equity & Inclusion, Content
Warner Bros. Discovery
Jacquill Moss
Entertainment Media Program Coordinator, RespectAbility
Lauren Appelbaum
SVP, Communications and Entertainment & News Media, RespectAbility
headshot of Lauren Spencer Lesley Hennen smiling headshot headshot of Sarah Gutierrez
Lauren “Lolo” Spencer
Jazmyn “Jazzy” Jones,
Disney Branded Televisions animated series Firebuds”
Lesley Hennen
Entertainment Media Associate, RespectAbility
Sarah Gutierrez
Manager, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Content & Productions, Warner Bros. Discovery
Shea Mirzai smiling headshot in front of green plants headshot of Vanessa Pfeiffer Vanni Le smiling headshot in front of a staircase
Shea Mirzai
Writer and Co-Chair, WGA Disabled Writers Committee
Vanessa Pfeiffer
Director, Access Programs, Equity + Inclusion
Warner Bros. Discovery
Vanni Le
Entertainment Outreach Program Manager
RespectAbility

 

Wednesday, Oct 12

Session 1: Animating Disability with Disney Junior’s Firebuds 
2:00-3:00 pm ET / 11:00 am – 12:00 pm PT

  • Craig Gerber, Creator, Executive Producer, Disney Branded Television‘s animated series “Firebuds”
  • Lauren “Lolo” Spencer, Jazmyn “Jazzy” Jones,, Disney Branded Television‘s animated series “Firebuds”
  • Lauren Appelbaum, SVP, Communications and Entertainment & News Media, RespectAbility
  • Vanni Le, Entertainment Outreach Program Manager, RespectAbility

Session 2: Warner Bros. Discovery Access Career Strategy Conversation and Networking
5:00-7:00 pm ET / 2:00-4:00 pm PT

  • 5:00 pm ET / 2:00 pm PT: Introduction by RespectAbility’s Delbert Whetter, Corey Evans, and Jacquill Moss
  • 5:15 pm ET / 2:15 pm PT: Warner Bros. Discovery Access Career Strategy Conversation
    • Sarah Gutierrez, Manager, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Content & Productions, Warner Bros. Discovery
    • Vanessa Pfeiffer, Director, Access Programs, Equity + Inclusion, Warner Bros. Discovery
    • Diana Theobald, Director, Equity & Inclusion, Content, Warner Bros. Discovery
  • 6:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm PT: Networking Sessions for Disabled Creatives on Working in the Industry with a Disability
    • Please make sure you pick your networking preferences! You will be sent a Google document to complete.

Thursday, Oct 13

Session 3: Getting a Job in a Writers’ Room and Networking
2:00 – 4:00 pm ET / 11:00 am – 1:00 pm PT

  • 2:00 pm ET / 11:00 am PT: Getting a Job in a Writers’ Room with…
    • Shea Mirzai, Writer and Co-Chair, WGA Disabled Writers Committee
    • Lesley Hennen, Entertainment Media Associate, RespectAbility
  • 3:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm PT: Networking Sessions for Disabled Creatives on Working in the Industry with a Disability
    • Please make sure you pick your networking preferences! You will be sent a Google document to complete.

RespectAbility’s 2022 NDEAM Entertainment Media Summit was supported in part by:

  • The Harnisch Foundation
  • Murray/Reese Foundation
  • Sony Pictures Entertainment
  • The Walt Disney Company
  • Warner Bros. Discovery

Have questions about this event, or requests for accommodation? Reach out to us at [email protected].

Skip to Footer

TWITTER

Connect with us on Twitter:

 

Skip to Footer

FACEBOOK

Connect with us on Facebook and join the community:

 

Respect Ability - Fighting Stigmas. Advancing Opportunities.

CONTACT US

Mailing Address:
RespectAbility
43 Town & Country Drive
Suite 119-181
Fredericksburg, VA 22405

Office Number: 202-517-6272

Email: [email protected]

GUIDESTAR PLATINUM

RespectAbility and The RespectAbility Report is a GuideStar Platinum Participant. GuideStar Platinum Participant Logo
© 2022 RespectAbility. All Rights Reserved. Site Design by Cool Gray Seven   |   Site Development by Web Symphonies   |      Sitemap

Back to Top

Translate »