Skip Navigation
Image of people smiling in a recording studio.

Events

Poll-Driven Messaging to Achieve Positive Change for People with Disabilities

Date: Monday, January 25, 2021
Time: 1:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. CT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 10:30 a.m. PT

RSVP: us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_PqF1bkkOTIKrfpN29pAkYA

In the aftermath of one of the most divisive election cycles in recent memory, it may come as a surprise that there is a proven place for positive messages that will win hearts and minds on critical issues facing Americans.  Over the course of nearly a decade, RespectAbility has engaged in strategic public opinion research in order to advance opportunities and reduce stigma for people with disabilities.

Nearly 30 years from passing the ADA, research shows that pre-COVID, 70% of working age Americans (ages 18-64) with disabilities were out of the workforce, even though 71% say that they want to work.  And, these staggering figures have remained largely unchanged since the ADA.  While there are systemic policy and legislative challenges to advancing opportunities for people with disabilities, research consistently shows that whether it be “overt or unconscious bias,” stigma is the primary barrier.

Which begs the question, how do people with disabilities and those who care about them crush this barrier?

The short answer is positive, inclusive, hopeful messages supported by clear impactful facts that matter to a persuadable audience.

Join RespectAbility and pollster Meagan Buren of Buren Research & Communications for an in-depth review of messaging research on increasing opportunities for people with disabilities. Across many sectors from politics to philanthropy to religious institutions, positive messaging works! [continue reading…]

The Accessibility of Filmmaking

Join RespectAbility at 2021 Sundance Film Festival - The Accessibility of Filmmaking in collaboration with Film Independent. Friday, January 29 1 pm PT 4 pm ET. Logos for RespectAbility and Film Independent. Icons for closed captioning and ASL. headshots of 7 speakers with their names.

Presented in collaboration with Film Independent

Date: Friday, January 29
Time: 4:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. CT / 2:00 p.m. MT / 1:00 p.m. PT
Duration: 90 minutes

RSVP: us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_9KSjG_-fSUaYBqnJc14v0A

This panel will inform and ensure that not only films are accessible, but that accessibility is kept in mind throughout the entire process. Having people with disabilities behind and in front of the camera makes for better and more inclusive stories, even if the project is not disability related. Moderated by RespectAbility’s Tatiana Lee, this panel will cover accessibility touch points throughout the entire filmmaking process, from hiring and casting disabled talent, making film sets accessible, and ensuring that the film itself is accessible. Attendees will hear first-hand from other filmmakers on the festival circuit on how they were able to implement best practices. [continue reading…]

Conversations Through the Lens: A 360 View of Disability on Set

Join RespectAbility at 2021 Sundance Film Festival - Conversations through the lens a 360 view of disability on set. in Collaboration with Film Independent. Saturday, January 30. Logos for RespectAbility and Film Independent. Icons for closed captioning and ASL. headshots of 4 speakers with their names.

Presented in collaboration with Film Independent

Date: Saturday, January 30
Time: 7:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. CT / 5:30 p.m. MT / 4:30 p.m PT

RSVP: us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_2-H90Z4xRla2_vvb8QvD8g

Having proper disability representation behind the camera is vital to ensure equity in Hollywood. Hear directors and cinematographers who have first-hand experience in navigating on-set life with a disability, as they share their experiences on and off set. Learn from producers what it takes to run a set that welcomes and makes the proper accommodations for crew members with disabilities. This panel will provide a 360 view into what it is like to be a filmmaker with a disability and what it takes to improve the Hollywood environment and culture to make everything more accessible. [continue reading…]

“Bridging the Gap” – Media Accessibility & Audio Description

Join RespectAbility at 2021 Sundance Film Festival - Bridging the Gap Media Accessibility & Audio Description. Sunday, January 31 11:30 am PT 2:30 pm ET. Logo for RespectAbility. Icons for closed captioning and ASL. headshots of 7 speakers with their names.

Date: Sunday, January 31
Time: 2:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. CT / 12:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. PT
Duration: 90 minutes

RSVP: us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_m2IZrhegTlODlVYpBK6sMA

The impact, creative power and reach of audio description accessibility assets being included as part of the film deliverables can be very rewarding. Incorporating and embracing an equal audience share mindset provides inclusive access to the extensive efforts and investments of creating media content. Often overlooked is the language of audio description interpreting visual content on screen to accommodate blind and low vision audiences. Equivalent to that is the language of closed captions interpreting dialogue and sound to accommodate Deaf and Hard of Hearing audiences. The future of media content is very exciting as we witness the rapid expansion and movement toward incorporating overall accessibility to ensure entertainment and information is an engaging collective experience shared by all audiences on multiple platforms. [continue reading…]

The Nuts & Bolts of Producing Deaf Content & Working with Deaf Talent

Join RespectAbility at 2021 Sundance Film Festival - The Nuts & Bolts of Producing Deaf Content & Working with Deaf Talent. Sunday, January 31, 1:30 pm PT 4:30 pm ET. RespectAbility logo. Icons for closed captioning and ASL. headshots of 5 speakers with their names.Date: Sunday, January 31
Time: 4:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. CT / 2:30 p.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. PT
Duration: 90 minutes

RSVP: us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_OzlXbzOcR3ST1gdGmfH3zg

Presented in ASL with interpreters, learn from experts with lived experiences about producing authentic deaf content and working with deaf talent. Learn more about communication strategies, producing tips, terminology and best practices when working with the deaf community and how to make your filmmaking process as inclusive as possible. This session features members of the film CODA, which will be premiering at the 2021 Sundance Film Festival on January 28. [continue reading…]

Mentorships Matter

Join RespectAbility at 2021 Sundance Film Festival - Mentorships Matter in Collaboration with Women of Color Unite. Monday February 1 1 pm PT 4 pm ET. Logos for RespectAbility and Women of Color Unite. Icons for closed captioning and ASL. headshots of 5 speakers with their names.

Date: Monday, February 1
Time: 4:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. CT / 2:00 p.m. MT / 1:00 p.m. PT
Duration: 90 minutes

RSVP: us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_cBNCsvmFSl-8GcB1FDCZSg

Learn about a new mentorship program by Women of Color Unite, #Startwith8Hollywood, which is enabling women of color opportunities to break through the gates. Learn from women of color with disabilities who have taken part in the program and why mentorships are key for individuals from multiple-marginalized backgrounds to succeed. [continue reading…]

Screening and Panel Discussion: Intelligent Lives

Intelligent Lives logo. A film by Dan Habib. Four images of people featured in the movie smilingDate: February 2, 2021
Time: 7:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. CT / 5:30 p.m. MT / 4:30 p.m. PT

Tickets: https://watch.eventive.org/jxjvirtualcinema/play/5fea4f3c947c8100536f5239

Intelligent Lives stars three pioneering young adults with intellectual disabilities—Micah, Naieer, and Naomie—who challenge perceptions of intelligence as they navigate high school, college, and the workforce. Award-winning actor and narrator Chris Cooper contextualizes the lives of these central characters through the emotional and personal story of his son Jesse, as the film unpacks the shameful and ongoing track record of intelligence testing in the United States.

On Tuesday, February 2, at 7:30 PM, participate in a lively dialogue about the poignant film, moderated by Joy Stein, Director of Inclusion and Disability Programming at the Edlavitch DCJCC. Featured panelists are Carly Okyle, Jordyn Zimmerman, and Yonatan Koch, all members of RespectAbility’s National Disability Speakers Bureau: Jewish Division. [continue reading…]

People with Disabilities at Work

A Resource Guide to Achieving Economic Independence and Inclusion Through Employment and Entrepreneurship

Date: Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Time: 1:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. CT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 10:30 a.m. PT

RSVP: us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_deoiGjd8QU64Gg0JQ7BvjA

Please join RespectAbility as we roll out our newest, comprehensive employment resource. Developed by Ollie Cantos, People with Disabilities at Work is a brand-new resource to support the aspirations and accomplishments of students with disabilities, jobseekers, entrepreneurs with disabilities, and their families.

People with Disabilities at Work is a step-by-step guide covering critical topics around employment best practices, civil rights in the workplace, accessing services, closing the gap in education outcomes, and expanding career options for jobseekers with disabilities. This guide also explores how to drive greater inclusion in the non-profit sector, success in the private sector, and even how to become an entrepreneur with disabilities.

This audience for this guide is as wide and diverse as the disability community itself. Maybe you are a jobseeker with disabilities who wants to better understand work incentives and benefits planning. You might be a parent or a teacher who is helping your student with disabilities become a better self-advocate. Or maybe you are an employer who wants to embrace disability as part of your pursuit of a talented workforce and a more equitable workplace. Whoever you are, you will find something useful in this incredible new documents. [continue reading…]

Respect Ability - Fighting Stigmas. Advancing Opportunities.

CONTACT US

RespectAbility
HQ: 11333 Woodglen Drive, #102, Rockville, MD 20852
West Coast: 350 S Bixel Street
Los Angeles CA 90017

Office Number: 202-517-6272
info@respectability.org

GUIDESTAR PLATINUM

RespectAbility and The RespectAbility Report is a GuideStar Platinum Participant. GuideStar Platinum Participant Logo
© 2020 RESPECTABILITY. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. SITE DESIGN BY COOL GRAY SEVEN   |   SITE DEVELOPMENT BY WEB SYMPHONIES   |      SITEMAP
Translate »