Skip Navigation
Image of two young adults at a computer smiling

Your Help is Needed on Disability Campaign Questionnaire!

With just 39 days until Election Day, we need your help. RespectAbility is calling on all candidates for governor or Senate to complete the #PwDsVote Senate & Gubernatorial Disability Questionnaire. “PwDs” stands for “people with disabilities.” So far, Hillary Clinton and 30 candidates for Senate or Governor from both parties have done so.

Now we’re calling on you to help to encourage the remainder. A number of candidates, including Mr. Trump, have yet to fill out a nonpartisan candidate questionnaire on issues vital to America’s 56 million citizens with disabilities!

The down-ballot responses received so far are from candidates on both sides of the aisle – with 18 from Democrats and 12 from Republicans, demonstrating how disability rights is a nonpartisan issue.

Can I count on you to call and/or tweet the remaining candidates and ask that they respond to the questionnaire?

Tell them why it’s important to you! You can find a lot more information about the questionnaire in the release we first sent out earlier this month.

This is the first time down-ballot candidates have been asked to complete a questionnaire about disability-related issues on such a wide scale. The answers to these questionnaires are being posted on The RespectAbility Report and will be used for individualized state voter guides.

This linked Excel list (shown below with some information as well) includes candidates’ email addresses, phone numbers, appropriate contact person (where we could identify) and Twitter handles. When a candidate responds, the spreadsheet is updated in real-time to include a link to their responses that have been posted on The RespectAbility Report.

Sample Tweets (replace @ with the candidate’s Twitter handle):

  • @ Please fill out @Respect_Ability’s #PwDsVote disability questionnaire: bit.ly/PwDsVoteQ. We’re 20% of country!
  • @ Don’t ignore 1-in-5 Americans! Fill out @Respect_Ability’s #PwDsVote disability questionnaire: bit.ly/PwDsVoteQ

Non-Twitter Options

Email and call the candidates’ HQ or email their campaign office. Please find a table of contact information below, which is accurate as of Thursday, September 29. The linked Excel document includes phone numbers and will be updated in real-time as candidates submit more responses or new contact information is shared.

Share a Post on Facebook:

30 Senate and gubernatorial candidates have responded to the #PwDsVote Senate & Gubernatorial Disability Questionnaire so far! Help RespectAbility encourage all candidates to respond so we can learn more about their their views on issues for people with disabilities. (link to post: http://bit.ly/PwDsVote30)

* Please tag RespectAbility when you post to Facebook

Questions? Email Lauren Appelbaum: laurena@respectabilityusa.org.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP!

Absentee and early voting starts soon. Be sure you are registered to vote and encourage others to do the same!

All the best,
Jennifer Laszlo Mizrahi
President, RespectAbility


Governor Races

(As of September 29, 2016 – will be updated throughout season)

 

State  Name Email Address Twitter Handle Response
Delaware – R Colin Bonini senator-colin@prodigy.net @colinbonini http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteBonini
Delaware – D John Carney jessica@johncarney.org @john_carney
Indiana – D John Gregg jharris@greggforgovernor.com @GreggForGov
Indiana – R Eric Holcomb peteseat@holcombforindiana.com @HolcombForIN
Missouri – R Eric Greitens press@ericgreitens.com @EricGreitens
Missouri – D Chris Koster dturner@chriskoster.com @Koster4Missouri http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteKoster
Montana – D Steve Bullock bullock@stevebullock.com @BullockForMT
Montana – R Greg Gianforte ron@gregformontana.com @GregForMontana http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteGianforte
New Hampshire – D (lost primary) Derek Dextraze governordextraze@gmail.com @derekdeztraze http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteDextraze
New Hampshire – R Chris Sununu chris@chrissununu.com @ChrisSununu
New Hampshire – D Colin Van Ostern matt@vanostern.com @ColinVanOstern
North Carolina – D Roy Cooper info@roycooper.com @roycoopernc
North Carolina – R Pat McCrory info@patmccrory.com @PatMcCroryNC
North Dakota – R Doug Burgum teamdoug@dougburgum.com @DougForDakota DECLINED TO RESPOND
North Dakota – D Marvin Nelson nelsonfornd@outlook.com @nelsonfornd
Oregon – D Kate Brown chris@katebrownfororegon.com @KateBrownForOR
Oregon – R Bud Pierce info@budpierce.com @BudPierce4Gov http://bit.ly/PwDsVotePierce
Utah – R Gary Herbert contact@garyherbert.com @HerbertForUtah
Utah – D Mike Weinholtz curtis@mikeforutah.com @mikeforutah http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteWeinholtz
Vermont – D Sue Minter liz@sueminter.com @SueMinterVT http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteMinter
Vermont – R Phil Scott ethan@philscott.org @philscott4vt http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteScott
Washington – R Bill Bryant ryan@billbryantforgovernor.com @BillBryantWA http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteBryant
Washington – D Jay Inslee info@jayinslee.com @JayInslee
West Virginia – R Bill Cole rachel@billcoleforwv.com @BillColeWV
West Virginia – D Jim Justice ebailey@justiceforwv.com @justiceforwv  

 

Senate Races

(Candidates as of September 29, 2016 – will be updated throughout season)

 

 

State Name Email Address Twitter Handle Response
Alabama – R Richard Shelby info@shelbyforsenate.com @SenShelby
Alabama – D Ron Crumpton ron@crumptonforalabama.com @Crumpton_US_Sen http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteCrumpton
Alaska – R Lisa Murkowski campaign@lisamurkowski.com @lisamurkowski
Alaska – D Ray Metcalfe alaskanwarrior@gmail.com @Ray4AKSenate
Arizona – R John McCain info@johnmccain.com @TeamMcCain
Arizona – D Ann Kirkpatrick info@kirkpatrickforsenate.com @ann_kirkpatrick
Arkansas – R John Boozman info@boozman.com @boozman4AR
Arkansas – D Conner Eldridge graham@connerforarkansas.com @connerforar
California – D Kamala Harris james@kamalaharris.org @KamalaHarris http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteHarris
California – D Loretta Sanchez maria@loretta.org @Loretta2016 http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteSanchez
Colorado – D Michael Bennet claire@bennetforcolorado.com @BennetForCO
Colorado – R Darryl Glenn katey@electdarrylglenn.com @darrylglenn2016 DECLINED TO RESPOND
Connecticut – D Richard Blumenthal conner@richardblumenthal.com @SenBlumenthal
Connecticut – R Dan Carter bill@carterforsenate.com @dancarterct DECLINED TO RESPOND
Florida – D Patrick Murphy info@murphyforflorida.com @PatrickMurphyFL
Florida – R Marco Rubio info@marcorubio.com @marcorubio
Florida – R (lost primary) Dwight Young dwightyoung4senate@gmail.com @dy4senate2016 http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteYoung
Georgia – R Johnny Isakson info@johnnyisakson.com  @JohnnyIsakson
Georgia – D Jim Barksdale info@jimbarksdale.com @jimbarksdale
Hawaii – D Brian Schatz info@brianschatz.com @brianschatz
Hawaii – R John Caroll info@carroll4senate.com @carroll4senate
Idaho – R Mike Crapo info@crapoforsenate.com @crapo4senate
Idaho – D Jerry Sturgill info@sturgill4senate.com @sturgill4idaho
Illinois – D Tammy Duckworth nichola@tammyduckworth.com @tammyforIL
Illinois – R Mark Kirk press@kirkforsenate.com @markkirk http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteKirk
Indiana – D Evan Bayh megan@evanbayhforindiana.com @EvanBayh DECLINED TO RESPOND
Indiana – R Todd Young jay@toddyoung.org @ToddYoungIN DECLINED TO RESPOND
Iowa – R Chuck Grassley jack.hellie@grassleyworks.com @ChuckGrassley
Iowa – D Patty Judge sam@pattyjudgeforiowa.com @pattyforiowa
Kansas – R Jerry Moran info@moranforkansas.com @moranforkansas
Kansas – D Patrick Wiesner info@wiesnerforsenate.com @wiesner4senate
Kentucky – R Rand Paul s.farmer@randpaul2016.com @RandPaul2016
Kentucky – D Jim Gray grace@grayforkentucky.com @grayforKentucky
Louisiana – R Charles Boustany kevin@charlesboustany.com @cboustanyjr DECLINED TO RESPOND
Louisiana – D Foster Campbell ncampbell99@fostercampbell2016.com @campbellforLa http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteCampbell
Louisiana – R Joseph Cao tonytran@caolawfirm.com
Louisiana – D Caroline Fayard don@carolinefayard.com @FayardforSenate http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteFayard
Louisiana – R John Fleming ruth@flemingforla.com @FlemingforLA
Louisiana – R John Kennedy hq@johnkennedy.com @JohnKennedyLA
Louisiana – R Rob Maness john@robmaness.com @RobManess DECLINED TO RESPOND
Louisiana – R Abhay Patel will@patelforlouisiana.com @patelforLA http://bit.ly/PwDsVotePatel
Louisiana – D Josh Pellerin info@pellerinsenate.com
Maryland – R Kathy Szeliga leslie@kathyformaryland.com @KathyforMD http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteSzeliga
Maryland – D Chris Van Hollen sarah@vanhollen.org @VanHollenForMD http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteVanHollen
Missouri – R Roy Blunt rebeccaknipp@royblunt.com @RoyBluntMO
Missouri – D Jason Kander brad@jasonkander.com @JasonKander http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteKander
Nevada – R Joe Heck brian@drjoeheck.com @heck4nevada http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteHeck
Nevada – D Catherine Masto bridget@catherinecortezmasto.com @catherinefornv http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteMasto
New Hampshire – R Kelly Ayotte liz@kellyfornh.com @KellyAyotte http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteAyotte
New Hampshire – D Maggie Hassan aaron@maggiehassan.com @Maggie_Hassan http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteHassan
New York – D Chuck Schumer info@chuckschumer.com @chuckschumer
New York – R Wendy Long campaign@wendylong.com @wendylongny
North Carolina – R Richard Burr ajohnson@burrforsenate.com @burrforsenate http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteBurr
North Carolina – D Deborah Ross erika@deborahross.com @deborahrossnc http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteRoss
North Dakota – R John Hoeven deb@hoevenforsenate.com @hoeven4senate DECLINED TO RESPOND
North Dakota – D Eliot Glassheim info@eliot4nd.com @eliot4nd
Ohio – R Rob Portman press@robportman.com @robportman
Ohio – D Ted Strickland press@tedstrickland.com @Ted_Strickland
Oklahoma – R James Lankford office@jameslankford.com @jameslankford
Oklahoma – D Mike Workman Workman4OK@gmail.com @workmanistan
Oregon – D Ron Wyden campaign@wydenforsenate.com @wydenfororegon
Oregon – R Mark Callahan mark@callahanfororegon.com @callahan4oregon
Pennsylvania – D Katie McGinty moconnor@katiemcginty.com @KatieMcGintyPA http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteMcGinty
Pennsylvania – R Pat Toomey theo@toomeyforsenate.com @PatToomey
South Carolina – R Tim Scott info@timscott.com @votetimscott
South Carolina – D Thomas Dixon info@dixonforsc.com @dixonforsenate
South Dakota – R John Thune john@johnthune.com @johnthune
South Dakota – D Jay Williams friends@jaywilliams2016.com @jay4senate http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteWilliams
Utah – R Mike Lee info@leeforsenate.com @MikeLeeforUtah
Utah – D Misty Snow Genevra@mistyksnow.com @mistyksnow
Vermont – D Patrick Leahy jay@leahyforvermont.com @patrickleahy http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteLeahy
Vermont – R Scott Milne info@scottmilne.org @milneforvt
Washington – D Patty Murray campmail@pattymurray.com @MurrayCampaign
Washington – R Chris Vance info@chrisvanceforsenate.com @chrisvance123
Wisconsin – D Russ Feingold press@russfeingold.com @russfeingold http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteFeingold
Wisconsin – R Ron Johnson press@ronjohnsonforsenate.com @ronjohnsonwi

 

Meet the Author

RespectAbility Staff
RespectAbility Staff

For more information, email info@RespectAbility.org.

Respect Ability - Fighting Stigmas. Advancing Opportunities.

CONTACT US

RespectAbility
11333 Woodglen Drive, #102
Rockville, MD 20852
Office Number: 202-517-6272
info@respectability.org

GUIDESTAR PLATINUM

RespectAbility and TheRespectAbilityReport.org is a GuideStar Platinum Participant. GuideStar Platinum Participant Logo
© 1999-2019 RESPECTABILITY. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. SITE DESIGN BY COOL GRAY SEVEN   |   SITE DEVELOPMENT BY WEB SYMPHONIES   |   PRIVACY   |   TERMS OF SERVICE   |   SITEMAP
Translate »